Artistic project

Hello,

it’s my first day on the forum and I wanted to introduce myself and immediately ask some questions :slight_smile:
I live in Brussels where I work as a social worker and artist. I am part of the artists collective TRIPOT (http://tripot.org/). We work a lot with video but mostly in installations where we include material elements that enter in a dialogue with the image. Our projects are largely research-based and transdisciplinary.
Recently we started a new project about representation of sexuality and the way texture affects our sensory perception. Therefor we like to work with a material that approximates the tactile properties of human skin. During my research I came across bacterial leather and I already started to grow some of my own. Now that I have read your wonderful manual I realized that I made a lot of mistakes :wink: But I also learned about the possibilities to grow materials from other micro organisms like mycelium.
I was asking myself of somebody could give me advice about which growing process would be the most suitable for my purposes or how I could manipulate the process in a way that the outcome would be the closest possible to skin? For instance, from what I understand the material made from kombucha gets relatively hard and dry in the end of the process (like leather). Is there a possibility to keep it softer like living skin?
Another thing that I wanted to ask is if there are workshops about this subject in the near future?
Thanks a lot in advance!

Marius

Hi @Marius ! Pleasure to read you. What a diverse portfolio you have there! I’ve been working as a bioengineer together with artists and designers over the years and it’s inspiring when people like yourself take on the challenge of working with biology :slight_smile: