Colouring mycelium with organic and synthetic dyes

Hey guys!

I am an architecture student, currently doing research at VUB on a range of different properties of mycelium for a thesis on the potential of the material in an architectural framework. I started out with an exploration of colour. At the moment my approach is very empirical since I am lacking a background in biology and I would love to hear your insight on my experiments :slight_smile:

The objective of my first experiment was to investigate the possibility of implementing either temporal or permanent colour in the material by growing Trametes Versicolor on agar mediums, coloured with both organic and synthetic dyes. The colorants were dissolved in the agar solutions before autoclaving them for 45 minutes.

Inoculation of coloured agar mediums

MEDIUM
2% malt agar
ADDITIVE
1 sample with colourless reference medium
1 sample with pink solid watercolour
1 sample with yellow food colouring
1 sample with turmeric
1 sample with purple organic soap dye
1 sample with red liquid watercolour
1 sample with black solid watercolour
1 sample with blue acrylic paint
1 sample with green textile colorant
STRAIN
Trametes Versicolor
HYPOTHESIS
Organic colorants will be used as a source of nutrients; will thus be easily degraded and won’t stay visible for a long period of time. Synthetic dyes will not be degraded as easily, and the pigment will last longer.

FINDINGS
Most pigments were degraded by Trametes Versicolor and after five days of growth, almost all petridishes were covered in a white blanket of hyphae. However, the liquid watercolour (red) was introduced in the hyphae system of the organism, resulting in a pink mycelium that is growing brighter in colour over time. I have repeated the experiment with blue liquid watercolour, which also seems to work. After drying the samples, the soap dye (purple) and food colouring (yellow) also left a colour, less vibrant however, to the mycelium.