Healthy mind: Therapy journal made from Kombucha leather

Hi all,

I’m Fay and I’m new here (nice to e-meet you :sunny: ). I’m a recently graduated industrial designer who’s participating in the Biofab Bootcamp of Glimps. It’s been really fun and educational so far!

One of the little projects I’m working on is a therapy notebook made with kombucha leather (or paper). The first step in the bigger story on healthy mind in a healthy body in a healthy world that I want to explore, more on that in the future :wink:.

The idea came from flipping the current problem of kombucha leather not being very durable to seeing it as an opportunity: where could this temporary nature be a value rather than a restriction? Since I am a notebook addict myself (I still keep a written agenda rather than an online one), the idea of a vanishing notebook intrigued me a lot. Because both writing and nature can be so therapeutic, I wanted to combine the two.

I envision that it works kind of like the wreck it journal, where you are encouraged to use, break, explore etc… the object as a way of healing or a tool for recovery. It disappears as you need it less. In the end the journal is gone, but you gained something far more valuable and permanent in return.

One of my first little experiments was just coloring a sheet of kombucha leather and then trying to write on it. I really love the texture, and it rips just like paper (which is actually very satisfying as well). I’ve been carrying it around for 3 weeks now and it still looks very good.

Using this idea as a starting point, I want to experiment with other materials as well, as I was hugely inspired by the bioplastics and biohacking workshop I followed last weekend. I also found this example of stitching leaves together which would be cool to try out as well.

Some questions I’m asking myself:

• Can we create paper without using the standard, destructive approach of reducing everything to pulp?