Hello all, I'm Tom

Hello BioFab Forum,

To introduce myself, I’m an Industrial & Service Designer from Mechelen, working at a Design, Engineering and Innovation Consultancy company called Achilles Design.

Since I was little, I had both a passion for nature (from bugs to plants, always looking things up) and being creative. When time came to make a decision on what to study, I was in doubt between studying medicine, bio-engineering or industrial design. I picked the last one and after 5 years studying, started working at Achilles. Over the last years, while doing amazing innovation and product design projects, it became clear for me that there’s still a long way corporates and (traditional) SME’s to even adopt sustainable thinking (not yet: producing sustainably) in their processes. And even myself as a designer, I can still learn a lot. So my main personal goal is -quite cliché- trying to contribute to a more sustainable future through good design and knowledge in sustainable production.

I joined this forum after seeing some cool posts on Instagram by OVAM, where GLIMPSE was featured with the mycelium tiles. After some looking around, I found this forum and I knew this seemed like my holy grail, the crossroads of design, science, experimentation and nature where I was looking for. :slight_smile:

Still absolutely new to all of this stuff, so I’m starting from scratch.
But my first project is already brewing/growing, as I tried the nice guide about Bacterial Leather.
No specific project in mind yet, but there are some ideas floating around.
Such as: can you trap a rigid body (eg. 3D-printed stick structure) inside a SCOBY, in such a way that when it’s encapsulated and dried, you gain some extra properties such as origami-like features?