Hello bio-passionate people !

Really thankful for this bio-community initiative ! :grinning:

Here is a little about why I am joining this kicking bio-adventure.
I am a designer specialized in textile (fashion) and a variety of materials (art & design) based in Brussels (Belgium). I have a strong focus on visual identity (color trends, kinetic effects, touch and movement implied by the material…) developed through material experimentations.

I’ve started to investigate about bio-manufacturing during Material Futures Master in London, and got very fascinated to co-work with living organisms. It brought me a new ethical approach as a designer: biodegradable materials, collaborative creation (with scientists, biologists, agronomists), loop processes (systemic approach), biomimetic technologies, bio-association…
I specifically focused my master project on fungi and species types that can break down and stock contaminants from the soil (mycoremediation). I’ve been working with biologists to understand this natural technic and designed a system containing living mushrooms. I am indeed into regenerative design and projects tackling climate change realities.

I now want to explore further mycelium-based material (thickness, association with other materials) and other types of biomaterials (kombucha, bioplastic) within my design approach (shape, color, texture and combination with other types of material).
I am also interested and in contact with researchers engaged in stone paper, spirulina (for food), decellularized wood, don’t hesitate to get in touch with me regardings these subjects.

Let’s start the bio -learning and -sharing together !
Audrey

Hi Audrey,

We met at the ReaGent wikithon. You have an interesting take on things… Perhaps a shame we didn’t get to talk more on the wikithon…