Hello fungal fellas! Mycomaterial Experience

Hello everyone!

My name is Siemon and I’m in my last year studying Product Development in Antwerp.
Being raised in the countryside as a farmer’s son, I’ve always loved nature and the animals around us.
My later fascination with the engineered world brought me to the new field of Biodesign today!

As a master thesis project I chose to dig in the wonderful mycoworld and have a look at the sate of the art regarded problem solving applications. I wondered where I could find opportunities to innovate and create new added value through research and design.

So I started from a very open research question “How can mycelium materials and products be designed at technical and experiential level to optimize their application and acceptance in society?”

For a handful of months now I’ve been gaining knowledge by strolling on the world wide web and participating in workshops and trainings by Glimps. Which I am enormously grateful for! Special thanks already to Winnie, Elise, Caroline, Kasper,…!

An important part of my project will focus on the User Experience and Consumer Acceptance side of the story. Cause “How people receive these materials is not known yet”. I found a few relevant research techniques which will be applicable. For example ‘AttrakDiff’, ‘UEQ’ and maybe ‘PrEmo’. But the main goal may be to design our own method for evaluating growing biomaterials experiences.

I want to test and verify samples from all kinds with people. (Maybe also during the biofabrication bootcamp). Very basic shapes with different properties and some which are maybe post-processed and treated. Like coloring and adding resins.
I wonder which other possibilities would all be interesting to look at?

Based on the results future design requirements can be listed and new concepts can be generated.
These (maybe very abstract) concepts could then again be prototyped and technical and experimentally verified.