"Hello world!" from Kortrijk (B)

Hello as an architect I am very interested in the possibilities of bio materials. I strongly believe bio-based materials are becoming more and more important. Therefore in our projects we try to use them as much as possible. Lately I saw a very nice picture of mushroom tiles on a website. (https://www.mogu.bio) Unfortunately the tiles were not available yet. After doing some more research I arrived here and hopefully it will be possible to have a wall covered in mushroom tiles.

My hobbies are tinkering, building, travelling, searching…

Hi there,

Welcome :smile:

Mogu’s tiles are beautiful. I love the picture they have on their homepage.

You’ve got two options…

1. If you want to just exchange money for tiles, Ecovative sells wall tiles made with mycelium.
  2. If you want to be a little adventurous :wink: you could try growing the tiles yourself!

-Shane

Hi @OOiXX, welcome :slight_smile: The Mogu tiles look nice indeed, a bit like marble in one picture. I’ve made quite some prototypes myself, but have never really gotten that look.

Growing is fun but can be a steep learning curve. You can indeed also buy the tiles as @shane_at_GROW.bio mentions. My least favourite option though, since the tech has a way to go and more people experimenting is what we need!

You mention that you do projects with biomaterials in your architect practice. Do you have some examples? :slight_smile:

Hi,

Spore prints really appeal to me too:

Herzog & de Meuron Ricola building:

It’s like an extension of art nouveau :slight_smile:

Hello

I checked the ecovative site before. It has different Mycelium Materials and a grow form to choose from.

I have no idea how much material I need to cover e.g. one square metre. Hence calculating the price.

Thanks for your quick reply

Have a nice day!

Hello Winnie