Hi! I'm Jamie

Hii! everybody!

My name is Jamie, last monday I started my internship and become a part of Glimps/Reagent. I arrived last sunday in Gent and I am very excited to start exploring and working here!
Im a dutch student from The hague studying Interactive media design at the Royal academy of arts. I will start my fourth and final year in september and will start on my bachelor thesis now.

Interactive media design is a terrible broad term, and can be a lot of different things together. For me it it became a way of designing, seeking for solutions with every medium in mind posible. Since a few years I started to combine design with nature, looking for similarities between human and natural systems, and experimented with organisms as building my own ant city and work with bioluminescent algae, here biohacking became my favorite medium. Lately I also worked on a project creating a skin look-a-like bag made with bioplastics. (you can read a publication here: https://creators.vice.com/nl/article/wjbgwb/we-spraken-de-studenten-die-futuristische-tassen-ontwierpen-voor-het-tassenmuseum) Last year I wrote a paper on design and biomimicry, on how we as humans have the resposibilty to look at nature and learn from it. (here is a nice explaining following the 10 principles of biomimicry (http://toolbox.biomimicry.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/NUPs-Examples-PDF.pdf)