How do we make mycelium structurally strong?

Hi, I m a student from India, working on furniture with mycelium. Have tried making few samples of mycelium but the structure seems to weak to with hold the weight of a person. Can something be added during the process of developing mycelium? Such that it becomes a strong all by itself ? kindly share the links or info regarding this.
Thankyou .

2 Likes

Hi! I dont have the answer to your question but I’m very interested in your project! Are you harvesting the mycelium in a lab or at home? I have been wanting to give it a go but I’m not sure how quickly it might get contaminated or if there are some ideal conditions for it to grow…
I’m also no expert but perhaps to improve its strength I would modify the percentages of substrate you are using, perhaps it needs more water added to the mixture or a substrate the mycelium will ‘eat’ better. Have you tried yeast extract?
Good luck!

Here some people made furniture with mycelium, you can ask them

https://criticalconcrete.com/building-with-mushrooms/

There are both advantages and disadvantages to mushroom materials when comparing them to one of the most commonly used construction materials, concrete. On its own, concrete maintains a compressive strength of 4000 psi to 10,000 psi. Comparatively, the mushroom bricks can only withstand 30 psi. Though it cannot support as much weight, it is also much lighter than concrete. The mushroom brick weighs 43 kg/m³, while concrete weighs about 2,400 kg/m³. Despite the brick’s lack of compressive strength, its low density makes it useful in areas that do not need as much support. For example, it can be used as insulation and support for interior walls.

Can we see your furniture? Can you post some photos? Thank you