introducing myself..

Hello everyone,

I’m Koenraad. I came across biomaterials and now this forum through Ekoli, since some time ago working with children seemed like something I wanted to dedicate myself to. Biomaterials have since then piqued my interest.

I have a degree in architectural engineering and I also did some additional studies in urban planning.

So I saw the bacterial leather from Magma Nova growing on fluid and now I’m wondering : could you isolate a volume of water outdoors and grow a solid material on the spot… leading to a footbridge crossing the water surface for instance?

But my first idea when thinking about a physical object made of biomaterial was an abstract sculpture that grows (when you “feed” it), perhaps changing colour according to environmental factors… I like art. I still draw myself, mostly in an expressionistic kind of way.
In short, it could be something you can put on your windowsill, like a plant or a cactus. It’s structure could be like a shell structure for architectural purposes or all kinds of other structures bearing resemblence to what you see under a microscope.

I am just starting to get into biomaterials, so my knowledge about it and about it’s fabrication is still very limited at this time, but I hope I can make some meaningful contributions here on the forum nonetheless…

Hi,

The main issue with your art would be time of response, Maybe as an urban planner, you have seen mycelium solve or create efficient ways. (Ok it was slime mold)

Maybe if you have comeptign species in equilibrium?? (Not a biologist, but we do have a similar concept in Chemistry)

And with the foot bridge would be hardening. Did you touch the bacterial leather pre drying?? that thing is not walkable (yet)

Love the ideas, keep them coming smethng has to stick

Hi Gammarra,

Nice to meet you. Thanks for the encouragement and the link!

Growth, colour, evolving and changing over time, that is all interesting to me.