Mechanical properties of mycelium brick

Hi.

I’m Daniel, a master’s student in civil engineering and currently I’m studying on mechanical properties of mycelium brick.

I was wondering if you guys could help me.

I’m using “Grifola frondosa”, “Fomitopsis pinicola” and “trametes versicolor”.

I have access to sawdust, sugar cane and other Materials needed for substrate but I don’t know a lot about its Mixing ratio.

Dimensions and other Parameters related to the mold are another question.

@Elise @winnieponcelet can you help me? I have read all of your posts and comments.

Hello @Daniel_MMO, we have moved the BioFab Forum to biofabforum.org a few days ago. So I copied the post you made on edgeryders.eu to this place – this is the new place, where all the discussions take place now. Your account works on both websites (and some more, see the top-right menu “Communities”).

Hi @Daniel_MMO,

At which university do you study?

What type of mechanical tests would you like to perform? What is the application you have in mind, cause this will influence the type of tests to perform?

I’ve never used the species you indicate, so also don’t know the proportions of substrate. Usually, I would recommend not to use to much “fast sugars”, like sugar cane, because this will higher the risk on contaminations.

What type of sawdust? Hard wood, softwood,…? Do you know the origin?

Can you document your process here? It’s easier to advice and help when we see your protocol, methodology, pictures, results of growth, etc… Here is a good example of how @bdamsin is documenting his process Bacterial cellulose in architecture - culture comparison, composites, contamination

I’ve not worked with Grifola and Fomitopsis either. Ideally you will want your fibers in the mixture to be the major ingredient. The nutrients such as sugar cane are just to support the growth, they don’t really add to the strength of the material.