Robotic fabrication (KUKA Robot) of mycelium composites

Hey! I am an architecture student, currently doing research at VUB on the robotic fabrication (using a KUKA Robot) of functionally graded biomaterials. Remarks or hints are always welcome, since I don’t have an extensive knowledge of Biology.

PROTOCOL PREPARATION OF THE FIBRE

1. A desired amount of gelling agent is mixed with 100 ml distilled water.
  2. The mass of the gel to fill a jar is measured.
  3. The mass of the fibre to fill a jar is measured.
  4. A humidity of 80% (more or less) is needed for the living organism. Therefore, distilled water needs to be added to the fibres.
  5. The fibres, distilled water and the gelling agent are mixed in a bowl.
  6. Everything (filter bags) is autoclaved for 20 minutes at 121°C.
  7. The mixture needs to rest for 12 - 24 hours, in order to absorb the water and the viscous matter.

PROTOCOL INCUBATION

1. The jar is filled with the desired amount of viscous matter and Trametes Versicolor (10% of the total mass).
  2. Everything is mixed by a spoon.
  3. The mixture is compressed by a spoon.
  4. The samples are placed in an incubator at 26°C.

LOGBOOK (15 - 22 Nov 2018)

During my first tests, three different % of fibres are compared (80% - 60% - 40%). The fibres were prepared on the 15th. In this case, 200% distilled water was added to the mass of the fibre (see protocol preparation of the fibre), because of the already small chopped fibres and the use of a viscous matter.

WC: chopped wood fibers
Psy: Psyllium Husk Powder
Tv: Trametes Versicolor

Test 1 (inoculated and tested on 19 Nov 2018): Print directly the viscous matter inoculated with mycelium

• 80%WC_3%Psy_Tv
    During the preparation of the fibres, it became clear that this would be a too dry mixture. This was confirmed by trying to print it with a piping bag, only water was squeezed out.

• 60%WC_3%Psy_Tv