SCOBY Origami

Hi, my name is Diyannah.

I’m a Master of Architecture student at University of Tasmania in Tasmania, Australia. This semester, I am currently enrolled in an Advanced Design Research elective called Bio-fabrication with SCOBY & Mycelium . The objective of the elective is to explore new ways to biofabricate with the biomaterials and being able to upscale the application of mycelium and SCOBY appropriate to architectural contexts.
Currently, my direction is to create an origami-like (architectural)form through folding the scoby dried sheets. As there is only 8 weeks to produce a physical output, I will not be going through the whole growing process of SCOBY but will be using the dried SCOBY sheets that I currently have at hand now.

Dried Scoby.jpeg
I would appreciate if anyone could share with me on the techniques or methods on how to handle or fold dried SCOBY sheets to achieve the folded forms.

Thank you, looking forward to your reply.

Diyannah

Hi Diyannah! Welcome to the forum. That’s some impressive growing you have going on there :slight_smile:

I noticed there are patterns in the sheets, did you dry them on a roster or something similar?

We have some origami experts in the house here. @LynnJosephy made beautiful jewellery. At a recent workshop there was also someone doing pro stuff. I don’t remember his name but @LumiFungi will know!

Pretty cool that your university has such a course by the way! Does the whole class get to work with the biomaterials?

Hi @winnieponcelet Yes I have messaged @LynnJosephy too. Thank you for the taking time to reply and giving me some advice and tips. As of now, after much researching, I decided to just jump straight into folding the dried scoby sheets. This is my current progress.

Folding the dried scoby sheet works well when they are all dried and thin.

Hi @diyannahsyfqh

Cool! I’d love to follow your progress on different origami forms.

You seem to be making collapsible forms. How is that holding up?